BDSM On A Budget – The Thrift Store

Welcome to the inaugural post of what I hope will become a regular and admittedly popular feature of The Dom Next Door™ – BDSM On A Budget.

Let’s face it. Not everyone has the pockets to outfit a full-fledged playroom with St. Andrew’s Crosses, custom paddles, intricate leather restraints and the like. As much as we all would like to, the feasibility and reality to have rooms like kink.com has in The Armory (great fucking site) is not an everyday reality. Add in the very real issue that not everyone has the persona or desire to flaunt their BDSM lifestyle. Imagine the mother-in-law’s comments on that new suspension rig in the bedroom, or the very real topic of kinks having children in the same house where the Dominant parent ties the submissive one down and covers them in dripping wax while they scream through a full face leather mask…

…well, I hope you can see and appreciate the need for discretion.

Now for those of you who actually do have spreader bars and nipple clamps hanging in plain sight like so many vintage oxen yoke’s or jewelry I applaud and respect you. It takes a major commitment to being so open in one’s decision to do WIITWD, and I sincerely give you props for that. I wish Leigh and I could be more open with our new lifestyle, but the cold dose of life that is reality simply will not allow us this freedom. I have no desire to brazenly show off or be easy family get together joke fodder. For the immediate future we close the bedroom door, then tell the whole world about what happens behind its shut hinges. Leigh is comfortable with this and I totally respect her views and feelings.

So, what to do? You do what spies and resistance movements have done for millennia. You hide in plain sight. Blend right in. Use the everyday for the unconventional. Its cheap, its easy and fucking effective. The world is a very kinky place if you open your mind to what your eyes are telling you. Allow me to demonstrate:

What do you see here?

Thrift Store Belt Rack

To the casual eye its a display rack of belts and scarves at the local thrift store. Goodwill, Salvation Army, you get the idea. But to an open mind with a kinky eye there is possibility and potential. Oh yes, lots of fucking possibilities hiding right in plain sight at discount prices. Look closer:

More Belts

I see leather straps with shiny metal clasps. I see chain link. I see the kind of things that, with a little ingenuity and creativity, could become instruments to restrain, bind, secure, hell even use as a spanking toy. And they’re practically giving them away at $1.99 a piece. Let that last sentence sink in the next time you shop online for leather strapping and bondage restraints.

The BDSM community has a de facto color scheme. Black is the new black. Sure there are other options and personalized interests, but for the most part black is where it’s at. And then there is the whole issue of leather. So let us look even closer:

Black Leather Belts

Now we are talking. I don’t know about you, but I find this image sexy. The way the buckles glisten and the leather whispers. How the clasps are cold, rigid, impersonal but the straps are warm, worn and inviting. Black leather with steel clasps on an adjustable track. Do the math.

My math came out to $5.97 for three black belts, all with silver hued clasps. They all share the same tanned, semi-stain warmth in their finish and have a nice quality to them. That’s important to me. They also are approximately the same length, which is also good. (Hint – when shopping like this, look underneath the bottom of the rack for the longer belts) And they are all different widths, which is fucking perfect for what I ultimately have in mind for when I acquire enough of them: to make a corset of leather snakes around Leigh’s midsection. This will present her with a whole new dilemma when I torment her in that, when she goes to take that really deep breath when she squirts all over my hand, she will not be able to expand her rib cage. She will be bound without being tied up if I chose. The intensity of the resulting climaxes should be insane as a result.

I’m sure her pussy just surged a little as she read that last sentence. Good.

Plus, I can use these for a multitude of bondage scenarios. You’ve already likely read about what a leather belt can do in the Away Games saga. I can secure her hands and arms. I can, with ladder efficiency, make her legs unable to spread if I want. Breast torment? No problem. And when we are done playing I can simply clean them up and hang them in plain fucking view, except for the one I use to keep my pants around my waist and not my ankles. I’m wearing one of them right now.

But caveat emptor. Hiding among the plethora of belts was this beauty, which at an initial glance seems like a slam dunk, bondage scene cinch:

Chain With Sharp Openings

Its a chain link belt. Perfect! Leigh would be stunning with this around her waist and a look in her eye as her attire for the evening. But look closer. See that top link, the one hanging on the hook? Notice that the links are not solid, nor even crimped well. As a matter of fact they are so poorly secured it would not take much effort at all to go all Hercules on it and snap it with bare hands and determination. But more importantly I would hate for a beautiful scene to be ruined by Leigh’s lovely alabaster skin being pinched by one or more of these, possibly even drawing blood. One type of red leading to another one – a safe word that ends everything now because I was fucking careless in what I presented to her as my whim and desire. Please make sure to examine what you plan to use  for reasons that it was never intended.

And while not featured in an image I chanced across a huge black scarf for $1.99. This thing is at least 30″ x 84″ in scale. Its so massive that Leigh can actually fashion a top out of it. I’m honestly not sure what the fuck I am going to do with it, but it gives me a lot of potential to wrap or bind Leigh in some very erotic, provocative ways. It will be fun thinking of how to use it.

So now that we have some inexpensive, effective, attractive as hell bindings, let’s set the right mood with a visit to the Home Wares Department:

Steel & Iron Candle Holders

If black is the color of choice for BDSM, the tried and true decorum will and always be Early Medieval Castle Dungeon or Contemporary Inquisition. You can’t go wrong with the classics. There were no CFL lightbulbs back then, nor were there outlets to plug in that hideous lamp you got for Christmas, the one you have to use but hide in the bedroom so only the two of you are subjected to its horror. There was candlelight and cast iron fixtures. And they were often exquisite in their details.

And thrift stores are fucking loaded with cheap examples of the same light sources that were used centuries ago when BDSM was not a lifestyle but a painful reality for those without who either disagreed or dishonored those with. Leigh and I have picked up countless free-standing and wall mounted sconces, holders, etc. This very trip we possibly spent  the best $2.98 in years when the hanging $1.99  brass lantern without a hurricane I had in my basket just happened to be the separated mate to the intricate and ornate .99 cent brass sleeve Leigh had in hers! If the lovely shadows that dance and sing their silent songs of seduction to us across the walls of that bedroom with the closed-door could talk…

We got a few other candle bases that either require tapers or tea lights. The warm, organic, living and breathing atmosphere they all create when lit borders on a church alcove.

And again, when the door opens, they just sit there silently during the day as part of our eclectic decor. And no one is the wiser. The faux cast iron tiered candle holder featured in this picture came from the same shelf depicted above.

So hopefully I have given you some ideas and opened your eyes to the cheap, kinky possibilities that await you among the polyester shirts and exercise VHS tapes. And to that end, a challenge from The Dom Next Door™:

Go out and find your own cost-effective ways to be kinky as fuck. Share them either here via comments or on your own blog with a link back to this page. I’d be very curious to see what you all could come up with to help you come.

– Scot

10 responses to “BDSM On A Budget – The Thrift Store

    • No, they won’t. But just keep in mind that when you are looking through the belts, etc and whatever else catches your eye that the person(s) next to you may be doing the same thing 😉

    • Its a great place to find all kinds of things that, with some creativity and a kinky mind, can add all kinds of intrigue to BDSM at a fraction of the costs of what some online retailers want. Plus you can actually use them!

  1. I love love love thrift store and hardware store BDSM toys. about ten years ago I found a really old paddle from ‘paddle tennis’ – think this guy’s, but with no holes or metal around the edge: http://bit.ly/M6qp4G
    I sold it on e-bay for like 20 bucks. I wonder why someone bought it…

    Black is black, but I like to be tied up with pink. 😉

    • Wonderful story! Isn’t it interesting to think that perhaps your paddle has since spanked some lovely behind 10s of thousands of times?

      And if its pink you like to be bound with, then so be it. Make these stores a habit and I bet you will have a stunning collection of pink/etc scarves to not only be bound with but also wear! And imagine the inner evil grin when someone comments on them, or better yet wants to borrow one 😉

  2. I made a nice flogger out of a leather belt I found at the thrift store- worked better than the $50 dollar flogger I purchased a few months ago!

Leave a Reply

